The Trapped Mind

When I was in Italy, I got an interesting question from the owner of the B&B. He asked, “When are we truly free?”

When I recalled the past, I have never been truly free from suffering. Certainly, there were quite a lot of happy moments. But I always felt kind of trapped by the conditions in my life. I am always unsatisfied about something and wish something will be different. I was never completely happy.

Today it suddenly dawned on me that I wasn’t trapped by my life conditions. I was trapped by the desire to have something more or less than the present. If I fully accept the conditions that I have right here and now, I am truly free and happy. I was trapped by the desire of the mind rather than the outside conditions. Unconditional self-love exists in the complete acceptance of the present.  

 
Reference of picture: foryourmiddleground.com

2 thoughts on “The Trapped Mind

  1. Struck me so hard. Been having a rough start of 2016, but reading your posts make me think really hard on how I should be getting back on track. Thanks for all your inspiring posts, Rhoda 🙂

Leave a Reply

